Kolkata Dakshin Lok Sabha Constituency

Ozg Political Consulting
Email: political.consulting@o-z-g.com
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91  

Kolkata Dakshin (Lok Sabha constituency) (earlier known as Calcutta South Lok Sabha constituency) is one of the 543 Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies in India. The constituency centres on the southern part of Kolkata in West Bengal. While four of the assembly segments on No. 23 Kolkata Dakshin (Lok Sabha constituency) are in Kolkata district, three are in South 24 Parganas district.

1 Assembly segments
2 Election results

Assembly segments

After the implementation of the order of the Delimitation Commission of India constituted in 2002, in respect of the delimitation of constituencies in the West Bengal, the Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency no. 23, Kolkata Dakshin is composed of the following legislative assembly segments:

Kasba (assembly constituency no. 149)
Behala Purba (assembly constituency no. 153)
Behala Paschim (assembly constituency no. 154)
Kolkata Port (assembly constituency no. 158)
Bhabanipur (assembly constituency no. 159)
Rashbehari (assembly constituency no. 160)
Ballygunge (assembly constituency no. 161)

Before delimitation in 2008, Calcutta South Lok Sabha constituency was composed of the following Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments:

Sonarpur (SC) (assembly constituency no. 109)
Chowranghee (assembly constituency no. 146)
Alipore (assembly constituency no. 148)
Rashbehari Avenue (assembly constituency no. 149)
Tollygunge (assembly constituency no. 150)
Dhakuria (assembly constituency no. 151)
Ballygunge (assembly constituency no. 152)

Election results

By-election 2011

A by-election was held in this constituency in 2011 which was necessitated by the resignation of sitting MP Mamata Banerjee and her subsequent election to the State Assembly from the Bhabanipur (Vidhan Sabha constituency). In the by-election, Subrata Bakshi of Trinamool Congress defeated his nearest rival Ritabrata Banerjee of CPI(M) by 2,30,099 votes,thus breaking the record of Mamata Banerjee who had won the seat in 2009 by 2,19,571 votes.

General Election 2009

General Election, 2009: Kolkata Dakshin
Party Candidate Votes % ±%
Trinamool Congress Mamata Banerjee 5,76,045 57.2
CPI(M) Rabin Deb 3,56,474 35.4
BJP Jyotsna Banerjee 39,744 3.9
BSP Paresh Chandra Roy 6,745 0.7
MUL Asif Md 5,896
Indian Justice Party Leela Hans 1,472
Independent Arun Biswas 1,984
Independent Barnali Mukhopadhyay 2,623
Independent Jayanta Datta 1,512
Independent Nishat Khan 2,923
Independent Pijush Banerjee 1,674
Independent Ram Chandra Prasad 4,091
Independent Yusuf Jamal Siddique 6,042
Majority 2,19,571 21.8
Turnout 9,15,836 80.08
Trinamool Congress hold Swing

 Indian general election, 2009
West Bengal summary
Party Seats won Seat change
Trinamool Congress 19 Increase18
Indian National Congress 6 Increase0
Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) 1 Increase1
Communist Party of India (Marxist) 9 Decrease17
Communist Party of India 2 Decrease1
Revolutionary Socialist Party 2 Decrease1
Forward bloc 2 Decrease1
Bharatiya Janata Party 1 Increase1

Source: List of successful candidates in General Elections 2009 to the 15th Lok Sabha
Statitical Report on General Elections 2004 to the 14th Lok Sabha

Results of elections prior to 2009

The following is a summary of the results of the Lok Sabha elections prior to 2009:

1951-1962 Calcutta South West, Calcutta South East, Calcutta East

During the period there were two constituencies with varying names. The winners are shown below.
Year Constituency Winner Party
1951 Calcutta South West Ashim Krishna Dutt Congress
Calcutta South East Syama Prasad Mookerjee Bharatiya Jan Sangh
1957 Calcutta South West Biren Roy Independent
Calcutta East Sadhan Chandra Gupta CPI
1960 Calcutta South West Indrajit Gupta CPI
1962 Calcutta South West Indrajit Gupta CPI
Calcutta East Ranendra Nath Sen CPI

1967-1971 Alipore

Alipore (Lok Sabha constituency) existed in 1967 and 1971.
Year Winner Party
1967[8] Indrajit Gupta CPI
1971[9] Indrajit Gupta CPI

1967-2004 Calcutta South

Year Voters Voter Turnout Winner Runners up
%age Candidate %age Party Candidate %age Party
1967[8] 317,171 62.60 Ganesh Ghosh 50.28 CPI(M) B.B. Ghosh 37.58 INC
1971[9] 296,088 59.00 Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi 50.65 INC Ganesh Ghosh 42.95 CPI(M)
1977[10] 398,560 60.92 Dilip Chakravarty 58.08 BLD Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi 40.59 INC
1980 472,700 61.54 Satya Sadhan Chakrabarty 46.09 CPI(M) Bhola Nath Sen 38.09 INC(I)
1984 582,370 72.52 Bhola Nath Sen 56.93 INC Satya Sadhan Chakrabarty 41.34 CPI(M)
1989 740,080 73.02 Biplab Dasgupta 50.07 CPI(M) Bhola Nath Sen 46.61 INC
1991 714,400 68.5 Mamata Banerjee 52.46 INC Biplab Dasgupta 39.1 CPI(M)
1996 852,460 73.02 Mamata Banerjee 52.51 INC Bharati Mukherjee 40.54 CPI(M)
1998 877,430 74.44 Mamata Banerjee 59.37 AITC Prasanta Sur 32.95 CPI(M)
1999 805,270 66.96 Mamata Banerjee 58.26 AITC Subhankar Chakraborty 31.68 CPI(M)
2004 772,740 70.46 Mamata Banerjee 50.93 AITC Rabin Deb 38.19 CPI(M)
2009 915,836 80.08 Mamata Banerjee 50.93 AITC Rabin Deb 38.19 CPI(M)

Ozg Political Consulting
Email: political.consulting@o-z-g.com
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91